In 1898, F.A. Seiberling co-founded The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company, naming it after Charles Goodyear, the inventor of the vulcanization process for rubber. It was the turn of the twentieth century and the Industrial Age was forming modern America where cities grew and industries flourished. Stan Hywet Hall was built between 1912-1915 for F.A. and his family.

As two of Akron’s most visible and influential champions in the early 20th Century, Frank “F.A.” and Gerturde Seiberling helped to shape the Akron community and their imprint may be discovered in the history of some of this community’s most enduring institutions, landscapes and causes. The 2017 theme focuses on the Seiberling family’s impact on Akron in Community – Not for Us Alone.

History

History

Manor House

The Manor House

Gardens

The Gardens

Corbin Conservatory

The Corbin Conservatory

The Gate Lodge

The Gate Lodge

Carriage House

The Carriage House

Estate Map

Estate Map